Our Heritage

Our Heritage…

The beginning of the Gulf Harbour Yacht Club goes back to conversations held in 1996 between Harbourmaster Perry Hodell and boating enthusiasts in the newly opened marina.

As a result of these early discussions an ad hoc committee was established consisting of Lou Fiore, Roland Eisenberg, Art Williams, Gene Custer and Perry Hodell, for the purpose of forming a cruise club to promote cruising on the Gulf Coast.  Several planning meetings were held during the summer in the Harbourmaster’s office.

The first organizational meeting of the new cruise club was held in the aerobics room at the Sports and Fitness Center on September 27, 1996 at 6:00 PM.  All Gulf Harbour boating enthusiasts were invited to this meeting (Note: the clubhouse was not yet completed).  During the remainder of that year into 1997 much work was done organizing the club, writing the by-laws, planning cruises and holding social functions.

Major contributors to those early efforts included Lou Fiore, Roland Eisenberg, Art Williams, Harry Randall, Tom Simon, Phil and Anne Kniskern, Bob and Mary Stream, Rich and Joan Tringa, Al and Joan May, Gary Langberg and Gene Custer.

GHYC Commodores

Phil Kniskern – 1998
Harry Randall – 1999
Vic Pfeiffer – 2000
Gene Custer – 2001
Gene Custer – 2002
Dennis Little – 2003
Bob Laddner – .2004
John Ingraham – 2005
Jodi Martin – .2006
Greg Callaway – 2007
David Bernstein – 2008
Tom Teeter – 2009
Tom Hendricks – 2010
Craig Anderson – 2011
John Hess – 2012
David Kelley – 2013
Terry Lappin – 2014
Gary Morgan – 2015
Gail Bernstein – 2016
Bob Allen – 2017
Mark DePrey – 2018

Chris Palmer – 2019

Mike Intravia – 4/2019 – 11/2019

Rob Spensley – 2019/2020

In November 1997, the first annual meeting of the Gulf Harbour Yacht Club, Inc. was held in the clubhouse.  Elected as flag officers were:  Phil Kniskern, Commodore; Harry Randall, Vice Commodore; Roland Eisenberg, Rear Commodore; Vic Pfeiffer, Fleet Captain.  Board members were Tom Simon, Treasurer; Gerry Langberg, Secretary.  Directors were Joan Tringa, Gene Custer and Al DeGenova.  The objectives of the club were agreed as follows: to promote enjoyment, fellowship and boating safety, sponsor cruises, and coordinate social activities for its members.

From the first organizational meeting in September 1996, to the current membership of almost 350 indivighyc-pcsdual members, the Gulf Harbour Yacht Club has prospered in the spirit of working together toward common goals.

Prepared by:
Gene Custer (Commodore 2001 & 2002) and Roland Eisenberg (Rear Commodore 1997)

Order of the Silver Stars 

The Order of the Silver Stars is open to any GHYC member who is a Past Commodore from any yacht club.